Dr. Joe Fox, member of CHARM’s Peptide Active Materials group, has been named a 2022 Arthur C. Cope Scholar. As one of ten scholars selected for this honor, Fox will deliver an address at the Arthur C. Cope Symposium at the ACS Fall National Meeting in August 2022. Congratulations to Dr. Fox!

Joseph M. Fox is Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, where he also is the Director of the NIH-funded Center of Biomedical Research Excellence on Molecular Discovery.

A native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Fox received his bachelor’s degree from Princeton University, where he conducted undergraduate research as a Pfizer fellow with Maitland Jones Jr. He completed graduate studies under Thomas Katz at Columbia University, where he developed a combined interest in materials science and the synthesis of challenging targets. He studied organometallic chemistry with Stephen Buchwald at MIT as an NIH postdoctoral fellow, where he worked on Pd-catalyzed ketone arylation and devised a synthesis of phosphine ligands that is now used commercially.

In 2001, Fox joined the faculty at UD, and he has built a multidisciplinary program that centers on the development of new types of chemical reactions. His group has developed new syntheses and transformations of chiral cyclopropenes and trans-cycloalkenes, and a new type of bioorthogonal reaction that allows for extremely rapid conjugation to biological macromolecules. Applications of this work include synthesis of naturally occurring and designed molecules with biological function, and in the use of design concepts in organic synthesis for applications in biology, radiochemistry, imaging, therapy and materials science. Within CHARM, Dr. Fox contributes his expertise on tetrazine ligation for the creation of macromolecules to advance the team’s work on bundlemers, (bio)polymers, and conjugates.

More about the Arthur C. Cope Scholars Award:
The Arthur C. Cope Fund recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry.

Ten Arthur C. Cope Scholars are named annually in three categories: two who have less than ten years of experience since their terminal degree will receive the Arthur C. Cope Early Career Scholars Award; four who have 10 to 25 years of experience since their terminal degree will receive the Arthur C. Cope Mid Career Scholars Award; and four who have 25 plus years of experience since their terminal degree will receive the Arthur C. Cope Late Career Scholars Award.

The award consists of $5,000, a certificate, and a $40,000 unrestricted research grant to be assigned by the recipient to any university or nonprofit institution. Awardees are required to deliver an awards address at the Arthur C. Cope Symposium. Past awardees and additional information about the award can be found here.