

## MRSEC-CHARM

Director, Thomas H. Epps, III Co-Director, LaShanda Korley Executive Director, Gwendolyn Gregory mrsec.udel.edu @UD\_CHARM

UD CHARM is a hub of interdisciplinary integration and infrastructure development to drive cross-cutting materials innovation. Using its materials science platform, UD CHARM is committed to training a new generation of innovators with focused diversity and educational programming.

#### Our Mission

Create a world-recognized hub of interdisciplinary integration and infrastructure development to drive cross-cutting materials innovation.

#### Our Vision

Harness the integrated power of computational design, innovative synthetic and manufacturing processes, and nano-scale characterization to unlock the substantial promise of complex, synthetic materials at multiple length/timescales.

## **LEADERSHIP TEAM**

Director: Thomas Epps, III thepps@udel.edu
Co-Director: Lashanda Korley lkorley@udel.edu
Executive Director: Gwendolyn Gregory gregoryg@udel.edu

### **STAFF**

Financial Analyst: Chang Xu changxu@udel.edu
Administrative Assistant: Sarah Dodd sadodd@udel.edu

Education Director:

Program Coordinator: Joseph Madanat jmadanat@udel.edu Lab Safety Coordinator: Scott Stinner stinner@udel.edu

## **COORDINATION LEADS**

IRG 1 Co-Lead	Darrin Pochan	pochan@udel.edu
IRG 1 Co-Lead	April Kloxin	akloxin@udel.edu
IRG 2 Co-Lead	Joshua Zide	zide@udel.edu
IRG 2 Co-Lead	Matt Doty	doty@udel.edu

# **FACULTY**

# IRG 1: Peptide Active Materials (PAMs)

Seed Researcher

IRG 1 Director	Darrin Pochan	pochan@udel.edu
IRG 1 Co-Director	April Kloxin	akloxin@udel.edu
MRSEC Director	Thomas Epps, III	thepps@udel.edu
MRSEC Co-Director	LaShanda Korley	lkorley@udel.edu
Researcher (NIST)	Paul Butler	butlerpd@udel.edu
Researcher	Joseph Fox	jmfox@udel.edu
Researcher	Eric Furst	furst@udel.edu
Researcher	Xingiao Jia	xjia@udel.edu
Researcher	Kristi Kiick	kiick@udel.edu
Researcher	Chris Kloxin	cjk@udel.edu
Researcher (Penn)	Jeffrey Saven	saven@sas.upenn.edu

Ioshua Zide

# IRG 2: Hybrid Quantum Materials with Emergent Terahertz Functionalities (HQ-METs) IRG 2 Co-Director

Wilfred Chen

wilfred@udel.edu

zide@udel.edu

	,	
IRG 2 Co-Director	Matthew Doty	doty@udel.edu
Researcher	Garnett Bryant	garnett.bryant@nist.gov
Researcher	Benjamin Jungfleisch	nmbj@udel.edu
Researcher	Lars Gundlach	larsg@udel.edu
Researcher	Anderson Janotti	janotti@udel.edu
Researcher (PSU)	Stephanie Law	slaw@psu.edu
Researcher	Branislav Nikolic	bnikolic@udel.edu
Researcher	John Xiao	jqx@udel.edu
Seed Researcher	Chitro Chakraborty	cchakrab@udel.edu
Seed Researcher	Xi Wang	wangxi@udel.edu

# **GRADUATE STUDENTS/POSTDOCS**

# **IRG 1: Peptide Active Materials**

Ashlyn Hillman
Ken Crane-Moscowitz
Caitlin D'Ambrosio
Michael Dworzak
Hanyuan Gao
Ruiqi Guo
Qiucen Jiang
Matt Langenstein
Catherine Lewis

Christie Montone Amanda McCahill

Joshua Meisenhelter

Paramesh Ramaraj

Sirajis Salekin Yao Tang

Jessica Thomas Samiksha Udan

Bin Wang Daibei Yang Wieran Xie Daibei Yang Tianren Zhang Zihan Zhang Yinzhi Fang

Nadim Massad (seed)

# **IRG 2: Hybrid Quantum Materials**

Wilder Acuna-Gonzalez Shahidul Asif (seed) Charles Yaw Ameyaw

Subhash Bhatt

Federico Garcia-Gaitan

Quoc Dai Ho Tomal Hossain

Ruiqi Hu

Zhixiang Huang (seed)

Aqiq Ishraq

Saurabh Lamsal (seed)

Yan Li

Yongchen Liu David Plouff

Muhammad Shaikh

Abhin Suresh Xinhao Wang Yang Wang Weipeng Wu Han Yan

Duy-Quang To Ali Kefayati Hang Chen

## **PARTNER INSTITUTIONS**

## **Research:**

NIST - National Institute of Standards &

Technology

https://www.nist.gov/

University of Pennsylvania

https://www.upenn.edu/

Education & Outreach:

TeenSHARP Tatiana Poladko

Co-Founder & Executive Director tatiana.poladko@temple.com

Kean University Derrick Swinton

Associate Dean, School of Integrative Science

and Technology dswinton@kean.edu

Delaware State University Cherese Winstead

Dean, College of Agriculture, Science and

Technology

cwinstead@desu.edu

**Assessment:** 

UD CRESP Sue Giancola

Senior Associate Director

giancola@udel.edu

Shameeka Jelenewicz Education Researcher sjelenew@udel.edu

## **INTERNAL ADVISORY BOARD (IAB):**

Kelvin Lee - Vice President for Research, Scholarship an Innovation

Mark Mirotznik - Associate Dean for Research and Entrepreneurship, College of Engineering (COE)

Murray Johnston - Associate Dean for Natural Sciences, College of Arts & Sciences (CAS)

Jill Higginson - Associate Dean for Graduate and Post Graduate Education, COE

LaRuth McAfee - Senior Assistant Dean, Graduate College

Dion Vlachos - Director of Delaware Energy Institute (DEI)

Marianthi Ierapetritou - Gore Centennial Professor at UD and former Associate VP for Promotion of Women in Science, Engineering, and Mathematics at Rutgers University, COE

Edward Nowak - Chairperson for the Department of Physics & Astronomy, CAS

# **EXTERNAL ADVISORY BOARD (EAB):**

Rachel Segalman - IRG Co-Director, Polymers and Peptoids, UCSB

*Christine Luscombe* – IRG Co-Director and ED, Semi-Conducting Polymers, University of Washington, Professor, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (OIST)

Kathleen Stebe – Deputy Dean, Surface & Colloid Science, Research MRSEC Member, University of Pennsylvania

Edward Yu – MRSEC Director, Solid-State Electronics, University of Texas at Austin

Dan Ralph – IRG Co-Director, Spin Manipulation, Cornell University

*Derrick Swinton* – Associate Dean, New Jersy Center for Science, Technology and Mathematics (NCSTM), Kean University (KU)

Cherese Winstead - Dean, CAST, Delaware State University (DSU)

*Eric Lin* – Director of the Material Measurement Laboratory, National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)

Scott Wasserman – Executive Director & Professor, Functional Polymers, Adolph Merkle Institute at the University of Fribourg, International PI of NSF PIRE with L. Korley

Jan Vermant – Head of Department, Colloidal Suspensions, Experimental Methods Development, ETH Zürich, Department of Materials

# CHARM SHARED FACILITIES: https://mrsec.udel.edu/facilities/

AMCL (Advanced Materials Characterization Laboratory)

Gerald Poirier gpoirier@udel.edu

CAMM (Keck Center for Advanced Microscopy and Microanalysis)

Gerald Poirier gpoirier@udel.edu

**UDNF (UD Nanofabrication Facility)** 

Iulian Codreanu codreanu@udel.edu

Star Campus at the University of Delaware

MGF (Materials Grown Facility)

• Joshua Zide, Ph.D. zide@udel.edu

**PPMC**